Northlands Wood Primary Academy

Northlands Wood
Primary Academy

Select Language

Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE)

PSHE education is a school curriculum subject through which pupils develop the knowledge, skills and attributes they need to keep themselves healthy, safe and prepared for life and work. When delivered well, PSHE education has an impact on both academic and non-academic outcomes for pupils, particularly the most vulnerable and disadvantaged.

The majority of PSHE education became compulsory in all schools in September 2020 with the introduction of statutory Relationships Education at key stages 1 and 2 and Health Education from key stages 1 to 4.

The Department for Education (DfE) considers PSHE education ‘an important and necessary part of all pupils’ education and says that ‘All schools should teach PSHE’. Section 2.5 of the national curriculum also states that all state schools ‘should make provision for personal, social, health and economic education (PSHE), drawing on good practice'.

Below is an overview of our curriculum.

Northlands Wood Primary: PSHE Curriculum overview
Topics EYFS Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 Summary
Worries & asking for help   Children will learn about the people they can go to for help when they need it and a variety of ways they can recognise their worries and overcome them.
Feelings & friendship / relationships Children will learn about some of the special relationships in their lives and will consider what makes someone a good friend. They will examine different feelings they might experience and how they can express their feelings to others.
Families Children will learn about different types of family and the way members of a family treat each other and show each other love.
Private & privacy Children will learn what private means; what sort of things people keep private and how it might feel if something private is shared. They will also follow the NSPCC Pantasaurus scheme of work.
Intro to safety & e-safety Children will be gently introduced to some of the things they might need to be kept safe from and will be reminded about all the people in their lives who will help to keep them safe, as well as how they can keep themselves safe.
Hygiene At this early stage, children will learn about how we can keep our bodies well and what might make them unwell. They will learn about germs and how they spread.
Health Children will learn about what it means to be healthy and active. They will also focus on medicine; what it is used for and how it is used safely.
Fairness - right & wrong Children will learn about right and wrong, fair and unfair. They will also explore what an emergency is and consider when something might not be considered an emergency.
Being safe - hazards & risk Children will learn about personal space; the difference between rules and laws; and different forms of risk, dangers and hazards. In year 5 children will follow the government scheme 'Clever never goes'.
E-safety, online relationships & media In this topic, children will cover a range of issues relating to e-safety, including how to check people are who they say they are, how to deal with cyberbullying and the consequences of spending too much time online.
Feelings & attitudes Children will learn how to recognise and cope with their feelings, as well as understanding the feelings of others. They will also learn strategies for coping with anxiety and loss, and who they can go to for support.
Identity Children will learn what makes up their identity/what makes them who they are and will focus on some of the things that can influence their identity - e.g. social stereotypes and the media. In UKS2 this links with lessons in Biology where children look at how they have changed since they were a baby and how they will continue to develop as they get older.
Relationships To start with children look at who the special people are in their lives; how they can maintain relationships with their friends and family and how they can cope when things go wrong. Further on in KS2 this will link with their lessons on puberty and they will consider how their feelings might change and the impact this can have on their relationships. In year 6 they will consider the relationships between couples.
Smoking & substance awareness The majority of teaching on this takes place in Year 5. Children will learn about both legal and illegal drugs, smoking, caffeine and alcohol use. They will consider the impacts on both individual and societal health and reflect on the reasons why people might choose to participate in these habits.
Health & nutrition This is a wide-ranging topic incorporating concepts such as; a balanced lifestyle, the impact of poor sleep, what makes up a healthy diet and the consequences of inactivity. In UKS2 children will also consider the impact of the media on our concept of health.
Puberty & menstruation In year 4, children will start with a gentle introduction to how male and female bodies change as they grow and will learn what menstruation is in preparation for their science unit in Year 5 which will further their knowledge. This will be reviewed in Year 6 also.
Sex Education In Year 6, children will look in more detail at the changes specific to boys and girls in puberty. They will get an opportunity to ask questions. They will learn how babies are conceived and about the age of consent.
Transition & moving on In their final unit prior to leaving NWPA - Year 6 will learn how to cope with change; ways they can try to stay happy; their strengths as a person. They will reflect on their positive experiences in Primary school and what will happen at Secondary school.